​​Church of Our Mother of Perpetual Help,

Ipoh, Malaysia

Seven ways to honor the Sacred Heart:

1Consecration: One beautiful way to do this is by consecrating (declaring formally to a religious purpose) ourselves to the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus. Click here for a prayer of consecration.
2Enthronement: Enthronement is practised by placing prominently a blessed image of the Sacred Heart in our homes, reminding us that Jesus is our king, and that we should love and serve him with our whole hearts. Here is the link to the Welcome His Heart kit; and link to Home Enthronement. 
3Reparation: We can show love to the Sacred Heart is by making acts of reparation for the abuse that Jesus receives. Prayer of reparation can be found here.
4First Fridays: This devotion is important because we remember the passion and death of our Lord on Friday. It is essentially a novena that reminds us of the love of Jesus for us, and instills in us a desire to imitate his sacrificial love.
5Frequent Prayer: Prayer to the sacred heart can be as long as a novena or litany, or as simple as a spontaneous, “Sacred Heart of Jesus, have mercy on us.” 
6Imitation: Imitating the Sacred Heart starts with giving love to Christ and being ready to sacrifice for his sake. But it also involves loving those we encounter every day—including those we don’t particularly like.  It means loving and forgiving our enemies and those who persecute us. It means laying our life down for others.  
7Missionary activity: Loving the Sacred Heart of Jesus means bringing its love to others. It means sharing our faith with those who may have fallen away from it, or who might have never heard of the fact that Christ lovingly gives himself to us, body and soul, in the Eucharist. It means bearing witness to the fact the Jesus is our king whom we serve sacrificially. And it means bearing our crosses lovingly and patiently.   

Ref. "The Catholic Gentleman".

The popularization of this devotion in its modern form is derived from a Roman Catholic nun from France, Margaret Mary Alacoque, who said she learned the devotion from Jesus during a series of apparitions to her between 1673 and 1675,[3] and later, in the 19th century, from the mystical revelations of another Catholic nun in Portugal, Mary of the Divine Heart, a religious sister of the congregation of the Good Shepherd, who requested in the name of Christ that Pope Leo XIII consecrate the entire world to the Sacred Heart of Jesus.

​​​​Address: Church: 1 Jalan Serindik; Redemptorists Community: 19-21 Jalan la Salle; 31400 Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia; Tel: (60) 05 5458220; Email: omphip@gmail.com; FaceBook: https://m.facebook.com/OMPHipoh/

Sacred Heart of Jesus

​24 June 2022, Solemnity

Jesus revealed 12 promises for those who honor His Sacred Heart:

1I will give them all the graces necessary in their state of life.
2I will establish peace in their homes.
3I will comfort them in all their afflictions.
4I will be their secure refuge during life, and above all, in death.
5I will bestow abundant blessings upon all their undertakings.
6Sinners will find in my Heart the source and infinite ocean of mercy.
7Lukewarm souls shall become fervent.
8Fervent souls shall quickly mount to high perfection.
9I will bless every place in which an image of my Heart is exposed and honored.
10I will give to priests the gift of touching the most hardened hearts.
11Those who shall promote this devotion shall have their names written in my Heart.
12I promise you in the excessive mercy of my Heart that my all-powerful love will grant to all those who receive Holy Communion on the First Fridays in nine consecutive months the grace of perseverance; they shall not die in my disgrace, nor without receiving sacraments; they shall not die in my disgrace, nor without receiving their sacraments. My divine Heart shall be their safe refuge in this last moment.

From: The Devotion of the Sacred Heart by Fr. Jean Croiset, the spiritual director to St. Margaret Mary.